Chipotle “burrito bowl”

IMG_3315

As promised, I tested several recipes today while snowed in. Strangely, most of them involve the fridge/freezer. I guess I have my seasons mixed up, but since when do college kids eat normal foods at normal times?

Although it did snow heavily in the afternoon, I forced myself to go to the gym. I’m training for my first half marathon, which is in April. I have to admit that I have not been very diligent with my mileage, mostly due to the snow and the fact that I absolutely hate running on the treadmill. I get tired out ten times faster!

treadmill meme

Too true ^^^ (source: memecrunch.com)

Unfortunately, excuses are not going to be of any help to me on race day. So I went for a run on the treadmill. UGH.

But anyway, back to the recipe trials. Like I said, they are either frozen or refrigerated. Most of them will probably be posted later on this week. Get excited!

IMG_3305

I bet you can’t guess what it is!

The recipe featured on this post is more of a hack. It just involves putting the right ingredients together, mostly from the salad bar in your dining hall.

I am a huge fan of Chipotle. Whenever I go, I get a burrito bowl. The ingredients always taste fresh, and unlike many other Mexican fast food restaurants that I have been to, it is not loaded with sodium.

IMG_3237

The other day, when I was craving a burrito bowl, I started thinking to myself, what exactly do I like about it? If you think about it, a burrito bowl is just a mix of fresh ingredients from each food group, something that I could easily recreate in the dining hall.

I tried it out, and it was really good! Nothing can replace a real Chipotle burrito bowl, but this will definitely be one of my go-to meals from now on. The best part is that the ingredients are always in the dining hall, so I can make it whenever I want.

Untitled drawing (1)

The sour cream is greek yogurt!

Assembling the Burrito Bowl

Choose your base:

I don’t have cilantro rice in my dining hall but I do have plain white and brown rice. I chose brown rice and drizzled a little olive oil on top, then tossed. I also added some black pepper. Another option is to use just lettuce and make a salad out of it.

Choose your meat:

My dining hall always has grilled chicken, which is also the healthiest meat to use. Chicken is high in protein and low in fat. If you want to keep it vegetarian, you could use tofu, which can be found in many salad bars, or even skip the meat altogether.

Choose your beans:

My dining hall has black beans and kidney beans but no pinto beans. I used just black beans.

Choose your salsa:

Unfortunately, my dining hall doesn’t have a spread of awesome Mexican salsa. It only has the jarred tomato sauce salsa, which I used to add some spice. Tobasco sauce is another option.

Choose other toppings:

Chipotle gives you the option of adding pepper and onions, corn salsa, tomato salsa, cheese, guac, sour cream and lettuce. I added onions, plain corn, tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, lettuce, jalapeno peppers, and instead of sour cream I used plain greek yogurt. I almost always substitute sour cream for yogurt, because it tastes the same and it is so much healthier.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Please share with a friend that you think would also enjoy it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

